Minister of Transport also reports to Parliament for the Canadian Transport Commission, the National Harbours Board and the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.

National Advisory Council on Fitness and Amateur Sport. The Council was set up under the Fitness and Amateur Sport Act (RSC 1970, c.F-25) to consider problems connected with the objectives of the Act. The Fitness and Amateur Sport Branch of the Department of National Health and Welfare was inaugurated in 1961 to increase the number of participants at all levels of competitive and non-competitive physical recreation and amateur sport activity ranging from day camps to the Canada and Olympic Games. The Council, consisting of not more than 30 members appointed by the Governor in Council with at least one from each province, advises the Minister of National Health and Welfare on matters relating to the operation of the Act.

National Arts Centre Corporation. The Act establishing this Corporation (RSC 1970, c.N-2) was assented to July 15, 1966. The Corporation consists of a board of trustees composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman, the mayors of Ottawa and Hull, the Director of the Canada Council, the President of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Government Film Commissioner and nine other members appointed by the Governor in Council for terms not exceeding three years, except for the first appointees whose terms range from two to four years. The objects of the Corporation are to operate and maintain the National Arts Centre, to develop the performing arts in the National Capital Region and to assist the Canada Council in the development of the performing arts elsewhere in Canada. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

National Battlefields Commission. This Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1908 (SC 1908, cc.57-58, as amended) to preserve the Historic Battlefields at Quebec City. Composed of nine members, seven appointed by the federal government and one each by Ontario and Quebec, the Commission is supported by the federal government through annual appropriations and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

National Capital Commission. This Commission, successor to the Federal District Commission, is a Crown agency created by the National Capital Act (RSC 1970, c.N-3), proclaimed February 6, 1959. Headed by a chairman, it is made up of 20 members, representing the 10 provinces of Canada and the National Capital Region.

The Commission is responsible for the acquisition, development and maintenance of public land in the National Capital Region; it co-operates with municipalities by providing planning aid or financial assistance in municipal projects of benefit to the region; and it advises the Department of Public Works on the siting and appearance of all federal government buildings in the 1,800-sq mile National Capital Region. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of State for Urban Affairs.

National Council of Welfare. The National Council of Welfare is an advisory body consisting of 21 private citizens and encompassing a variety of welfare-related interests. Its members include past and present welfare recipients and low-income citizens active in welfare rights, public housing tenants' and other low-income citizens' groups, native people active in Indian and Métis organizations and trade unionists, social workers and others involved in social service associations, private welfare agencies and social work education. The Council advises the Minister of National Health and Welfare on matters related to welfare. The Office of the National Council of Welfare carries out research and other support activities for the Council and performs a liaison role between the federal department and organizations of the poor and related groups across Canada.

National Design Council. The National Design Council was established by Act of Parliament in 1961 (RSC 1970, c.N-5) to promote and expedite improvement of design in the products of Canadian industry. The Council makes recommendations on design policies and the planning of programs for the furtherance of design in Canada to be implemented through departments and agencies of the federal government, regional governments and other private and institutional bodies. Programs formally recognized by the Council are identified under the title of "Design Canada". The Council has 17 members appointed by the Governor in Council and reports through its chairman to the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce.

National Energy Board. This Board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 (RSC 1970, c.N-6) for the purpose of assuring the best use of energy resources in Canada. The Board, composed of nine members, is responsible for regulating the construction and operation of the oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada, the tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipelines, the export and import of gas and the import of motor gasoline and motor gasoline-blending components, the export of electric power, and the construction of the lines over which power is exported or